My stars of the southern sky

Although the sun and the moon are the same, on the southern hemisphere the stars are different. One can see many constellations which are not visible from the northern hemisphere. Before leaving to South America I had been dreaming of one day being able to admire the beautiness of the southern sky. I even had a book about the southern sky and it made me determined going there one day and seeing them by myself. Last December I started fulfilling this dream and hit the stars.

Rio de Janero is the finish line of me andmy trip. And it's an amazing line to finish. The city is so diverse that it cannot be described by just one word or sentence. Each of its districts offers a unique atmosphere and the racial mixture of people makes it look like a kind of racial melting pot. Lightly-tanned people are the culmination of an interesting mixture process from all different types of skin colors from all over the world. Some people tell me that considering increasing globalization Brazilian cities are therefore a perfect example of the future society.


Panaramic view on Rio de Janeiro!

My final day in Rio I spend on Copacabana beach as it's a beautiful and sunny day. Collecting my final memories gives me time enough to look back on the past eight months before I return to the Netherlands. Eight months that have brought me so much and being here at my final destination I just can't stop reflecting upon this time. I'm standing on the finish line but it doesn't feel like it. It's like losing the race but winning the game. Or the other way around. It makes me feel confused.

On this final day I get to know Raymundo who lives in Ipanema, one of Rio's districts. Given his surname, he tells me his grandfather is from Dutch origin. Raymundo clearly loves Ipanema and Rio and he has a great passion for traveling. He shows me around in Ipanema and we share drinks and life stories. That evening I get to see Lapa district, where a lot of street parties are going on. Everybody is dancing, drinking and playing music on the streets. Despite the little bit of rain I really enjoy my final night in South America in this area.

Saturday is the day of my departure and of the moment of good bye. After repacking and having a good final breakfast in Ipanema Raymundo offers to drive me to the airport, an offer which I cannot refuse. The sun is shining and the view on the bay, Sugar Loaf mountain and Cristo Redentor statue is just amazing. For those who've watched the 'Rio' movie: it's exactly this stunning feeling of relaxation and freedom this city is giving me. Getting at the airport I feel a bit nervous, because I know that for the last time I'm saying good bye to a place in South America. But I also feel satisfied. I'm ready to go and prepared to say good bye. Knowing, however, that this 'adios' will be more like a 'hasta luego' I don't feel sad because I know I will return to this magnificent continent one day.

Having fulfulled my dream I do feel happy because I'm sure there are so many more dreams to fulfill. It's just a matter of getting started! Flying away and leaving this dream behind I embark on my next one. With my eyes wide open I'm flying. Flying in between dreams I lay back and relax. For the last time I see the stars of the southern sky setting down the horizon and I think of my book and the desire I had to see these stars. Thinking about it I realize that the stars of the southern sky, although very beautiful, were not the ones above my head. The real stars were the ones down on Earth. My stars were the friends I made, the happiness we shared, the adventures I lived and the beautiness I saw. Muchisimas gracias! Knowing you'll always be there I gratefully kiss you, my stars of South America, good bye.

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!