Change has come to Argentina and the mystery called "Paraguay"

Change is an intriguing issue everywhere I've been to in South America. Not only because of the political pamphlets I see posted everywhere: 'Vote for change!', 'Por el cambio'. Especially there's the problem of a lack of small cash in most countries here. That's what I found out. However, contrary to my expectations, Argentina outbeats them all! Due to devaluation of the Argentinian peso prices are subject to sudden change. For example, where most guidebooks give price indications for hostels for about 30 pesos per night, to my disbelief the cheapest seems to be 50 pesos now. Taking a city bus seems easy, but the bus tickets cost 1.75 pesos. This is absolutely a nightmare fare in terms of coins, because a machine issues them, doesn't take bills nor does it give any change.

Peso bills: the smallest denomination is 2 pesos, or about 30 cents!

On my second day in Salta I'm stuck at the bus terminal and want to get back into the city center by bus. So before I get on the bus, I need to get change because I only have bills! Good luck. Going into a sandwich bar seems a straightforward solution of getting some change, but after ordering a couple of sandwiches I find out that all prices are rounded up to even numbers. The two-peso bill is the smallest bill. So no chance I will get any change here. Then I try a small shop on the same block to buy a chocolate bar for 3 pesos. I pay with two 2-peso bills and anxiously I wait for my 1-peso coin to come back. But this quickly turns into a deception as my change is given in the form of little sweets. 'Sorry, no change sir' is the simple answer i get. Almost desperate (I want to get back to the hostel) I look around for which bank I should rob in order to get some of these precious little coins. A very friendly lady tells me the way to the closest bank. But at least fifty people are waiting in the line so no chance here either. I decide to give up, walk back, and enjoy Salta once again. On my way back I pass by at least twenty bank offices all having huge lines in front of them. This is Argentina. Developed and rich but with some fascinating monetary problems. Having money but without change you'll live like the poorest here.

I spend three days in Salta, a pleasant city in northern Argentina and of course I have my first good steak here. Then I take a bus to Asunción, the capital of Paraguay. Actually my next destination will be the marvellous Iguazu falls, but I'm fascinated with the idea of visiting Paraguay: hardly any traveler knows about it. The unknown is wat attracts me so I decide to check it out.

Welcome to Paraguay! The country of red, white and blue!

My stop in Paraguay will be Asunción, the capital, which is located just across the border. Asunción is a beautiful old colonial city with fascinating constrasts: rich Paraguayans live here together with the poor. It's hot here: at almost sea level and close to a huge river it reminds me of Guayaquil on the coast of Ecuador.

People in Paraguay aren't really used to tourists. They stare at me and at the few other tourists I see. It's like they want to express me their disbelief: 'Did you really come to Paraguay to see our country? Are you crazy?'. Street vendors seem to be significantly more aggressive here. While dining with Christin, whom I traveled with to Paraguay, the same watch vendor approaches us at least four times. He isdropping his 'ultime price' at least three times before he finally gives up. At least three other vendors try to sell their stuff to those who seem to be the only tourists in town. It's funny and tragic at the same time. All of a sudden an old lady runs into our table. Immediately I grab my belongings, however, that doesn't seem to be necessary. She picks up the full glass of beer from our table, downs it and heads off as fast as she came. Leaving us perplexed as we are, I request another glass with the waiter. (voor alle BoLe die dit lezen: het glas was absoluutbeheerd!)

Governmental palace in Asunción decorated for the 200th anniversary of Paraguay!

Like all countries I visited before Paraguay is celebrating its independence day around these days. Because it's the 200th anniversary all streets and buildings are dressed up in red, whit and blue. The Paraguayan flag resembles the Dutch flag so it's easy to feel at home here. To be honest, this is absolutely hilarious.Every day I question myself if oranjehas to play today. The interesting thing is that Paraguay, though lacking major tourist attractions, has a lot to offer. There are vast areas of nature, national parks and wildlife being easilly accessible. It's a good country for hiking, trekking and birdwatching . Most of the country is very agricultural and not very populated and many people live on ranches. People in Paraguay are very friendly and although not very used to tourists they're happy to receive them. They're proud of their country now celebrating its 200-year anniversary and maybe it will just take a little more time for the tourists to come. Until that day take the chance and enjoy Paraguay in all its purity!

Reacties

Reacties

Arjan

Je begint op bekend terrein te komen nu! Herkenbare verhalen van het geld en de schitterende foto's van de watervallen van Iguacu natuurlijk :)

Ik zie dat je inmiddels al in Rio bent, geniet ervan!

Groeten,
Arjan

Ilona

Hey Marc, ik lees soms mee met Arjan ;) goeie blog! Heel leuk en herkenbaar wat je schreef over Argentinië. Heel veel plezier nog in je verdere reis en ga zo door met schrijven!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!