Stuck at the borderline

Last night I flew from Cuenca to Quito, together with Joe, one of my colleagues. He´s heading Galapagos and then he´ll go back to the US. After this short but good flight I spent the night in a nice hostel in the new city of Quito and had a good night with some foreigners staying here as well. This morning I got up, did some final arrangements for my trip to Colombia and headed the airport around noon. So far, so good.

Because I was so early, the counters for baggage drop-off hadn´t opened yet. I decided to kill some time in a little bar and made my way to the counters opening at 1 pm. I got to know a friendly Colombian man who works in Quito and we talked for a while. I received an immigration form that I was supposed to fill out before going to the migration police. I started writing it, but several times asked my Colombian friend what it was supposed to be for, because it was an Ecuadorean form, not a Colombian one. Why would I fill out a form to leave the country? I was confused. That was only the beginning of what would turn out into a deception.

I moved forward to the customs (policia de migracion). Here I was confronted with the utmost bureaucracy I´ve ever experienced in my life thus far. I presented my passport, which according to international law is a valid travel document. However, as I work in this country I hold both a visa and an Ecuadorean id-card that comes with it. I decided to leave this little worthless card at home, because I didn´t want lose it. Stupid decision. The guy asked for it. I told him I didn´t bring it and kindly pointed at all the stamps that I managed to collect and bring since my arrival in Ecuador. 'Please look at my EU passport that is accepted everywhere around the world. You´re not going to stop me, are you?' Those were my desperate thoughts at that stressful moment.

No way. ¨No puede salir el país señor¨. I couldn´t believe my ears. 'You can´t leave the country'. I couldn´t leave this country carrying a valid passport. My key to leave the country lies 500 km south! The guy copied my passport, took my forms and sent me back. I talked to another officer and another officer, but there was no way I could get through. I had to postpone my flight and called my roommate in Cuenca. She might be able to ship the card by plane this night or tomorrow morning. Hopefully I´ll be able to depart tomorrow without getting stuck at the borderline again.

Reacties

Reacties

pa

Is wel vette pech Marc, maar ook dit zal zich wel oplossen en later een van de vele reisanecdotes blijken te zijn.

Hun logica is eenvoudig gewoon niet de onze en dat zal niet echt snel veranderen.

In ieder geval heb je weer bijgeleerd en je wordt zo langzamerhand een expert op het gebied van de Zuidamerikaanse papierwinkel!

Johan van der Koooij

Hey Marc,
Sterkte met dit soort 'tegenslagen'! #boring!
Goede groet,
Johan

mama

Met het gelijk aan jouw zijde, obstructie door bureaucratie van een simpel stelletje beambten die zo hun eigen Zuidamerikaanse regeltjes erop nahouden.
Zonde dat je dit treft: laat het je pret niet bederven nu. Ik hoop dat je nu met het vliegtuig naar Colombia bent vertrokken..

Está todo bien: buen momento en Colombia Marc!!!

mama xxx

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!